3DS Striker Pack Drama CD Tracks 1-5

[Audio track archive] [Tracks 6-10.]

Hi! This has been a long time coming. I translated this a year or a year and a half ago, got it checked out, sent it over to a regular proofreader, got swamped by literally everything, proofreader had to drop for a bit to take care of school business, took forever to find a new one, now we’re here. Sorry for the wait. Hope you enjoy! Part two will be up soon.

Track 1

Asimov: It looks like one of the wiretaps I placed is finally showing some promise. Alright, how’s this?
Just great! Now, ogre or snake? *

Merak: Hellooo? You there, Nova? Yellooooo…

Nova: Merak. Something the matter?

Merak: Do you have a minute? The Ministry of Defense received something disturbing. I thought I’d report it just in case…

Nova: Something disturbing? Understood. I’ll take a look at it.
Is this… a notice of intent to commit a crime? They even wrote when they’ll carry it out.

Merak: Seeeeriously. Sending out prior warnings for crimes in this day and age, what are they, fictional phantom thieves? Not only that, but its contents are just as bizarre.

Nova: “The last line of this country’s defense, the Kamishiro barrier, will be destroyed.” Yet another bold claim, I see.

Merak: If that was all it was, I would’ve shrugged it off as just a stupid prank.

Nova: Indeed. This is quite eccentric.

Merak: But then I saw something that I just couldn’t ignore. Take a look at the sender’s address.

Nova: This emblem…

Merak: I tried comparing the IP addresses from this e-mail and Eden, and I think… it’s them, for real.

Nova: Eden… If I’m remembering right, that’s the organization made up of Adepts who’ve fled their homelands.

Merak: Yup, it’s full of elitists who want to eliminate all non-Adepts, and make their own Adept-only country.

Nova: Recently, a lot of countries engaging in subversion have been brought to light, but now they’re coming after our nation, are they… I see, it’s true that we can’t just leave this be.

Merak: I’ll leave it up to you to decide how we handle this. Over and out.

Nova: Still, this is quite unusual… In the past, Eden had carried out most of their crimes in secret. It’s only now they’ve done something as bold as sending an advance notice to the Ministry of Defense. Could it just be a mere boast of their power? Or… could they be after something else…?

I suppose it matters not… In any case, the threat posed to our nation must be eliminated at all costs. And, in this situation… I wouldn’t be pulling any punches. Now… “Eden”… Time to see just how powerful you are.

Asimov: Interesting… I’ve stumbled upon some rather useful intel. “Wouldn’t be pulling any punches,” huh?

* This line is referencing the Japanese proverb 鬼が出るか蛇が出るか, literally translating to “Will it be an oni, or a snake?”. It’s a turn of phrase used to mean “God only knows what may happen”. He says it in English because he’s… well, Asimov.

Track 2

Tenjian: How are you two coming along?

Gibril: All clear on my end!

Teseo: GREEN ACROSS THE BOARD, BOSS

Tenjian: Alright then, let’s review our plan once more. Gibril, your mission is to get close to the Aurora*, the UTU Media Tower’s repeater, and annihilate its defense.

Gibril: Leave it to me! I’ll blow it to smithereens!

Tenjian: Not only will there be troops there, but you’ll most likely also come across one of Sumeragi’s Adepts. Keep that in mind.

Gibril: Doesn’t matter who I’m up against! I’ll take ’em ALL down!

Tenjian: Teseo, in the midst of all this commotion, your mission is to infiltrate UTU’s motherboard and shut its system down.

Teseo: KK I GOT THIS BRUH

Tenjian: Ah, that reminds me. There is one thing I’m concerned about. Sumeragi seems to have a talented hacker on their side, one who could rival even you. For this reason, please take caution when using your Septima.

Teseo: SOME NOOB TRYING TO ONE-UP MOI ?? NOW YOU’RE JUST TALKIN’ CRAZY

Tenjian: Carelessness is your greatest enemy. Don’t overestimate yourself, now.

Teseo: WHAAAATEVER~

Gibril: Tch. But you know… they’re Adepts who’re in cahoots with humans, is Sumeragi just a bunch of idiots, or what?

Teseo: SO TRUE, BESTIE!! YOU HATE TO SEE IT!

Tenjian: In this world exists many different philosophies, which differ with every individual. If we’re able to see eye to eye, then we can team up. If we can’t… we’ll simply get rid of them.

Gibril: I guess yer right.

Teseo: MORBID. BUT TRUE!

Tenjian: Sturm und drang. The two of you are free to be as chaotic as you please. Show the people of this nation, and Sumeragi, just what we’re capable of!

Gibril: Aye aye!

Teseo: TESEO IZ NOW EN ROUTE!

Tenjian: Start the mission!
…Now then… It should be high time for you to get ready as well. This plan is all for you… or, rather, for all of Eden.

* This location doesn’t have a localization equivalent, but since previous locations have followed the theme of replacing the names of Japanese goddesses with Western ones (ツクヨミ localized as “Artemis” in iX), I felt a similar theme would work well here. The Japanese name for the repeater is アメノウズメ, who is the goddess of the dawn, amongst other things, so I made a connection to the Roman goddess “Aurora,” who is attributed similarly.

Track 3

Jota: It’s almost time… and if Master Nova’s estimations are correct…

Gibril: Out of my way! Get lost, all of you!

Jota: They’re here!

Gibril: Yo! You with Sumeragi? This here’s the tower repeater, ain’t it? I came to smash it!

Jota: Of all the people that could’ve come, I’d never thought my opponent would be a wee child!

Gibril: WHAT’D YOU JUST SAY I WAS?! “WEE”?!

Jota: How could someone so small contain so much rage…? How could you hire children to do your dirty work?! You truly are a vicious organization, Eden…!

Gibril: And you just said it again! You son of a-

Jota: I have to warn you, child. This is a battlefield. I order you, take your leave before you get hurt!

Gibril: …Yer gonna pay for that… I’m gonna turn ya into Swiss cheese! Damn it, don’t dodge me!

Jota: Hoho… you’re shooting at me with outrageous speed… I’ll admit you’re not bad, but you’re still far too slow to keep up with me! Try dodging this!

Gibril: You’ve got lasers?!

Jota: At this speed, you won’t be able to keep up!

Gibril: Oh no, the jet…!!

Jota: My intention is not to take your life, so if you wish to leave in one piece, make yourself scarce!

Gibril: Don’t you DARE look down on me!!

Jota: Impossible! She’s… floating? No, is she standing on the wreckage? You’re… an Adept!

Gibril: Hah! Yer WAY too late on that one, ya moron!

Jota: Can she control debris? No… She’s not manipulating the stone within it… In other words, she can only control metal!

Gibril: Heh, looks like yer not completely braindead. That’s right! My Septima gives me free reign over all metals!

Jota: She made bullets out of the debris!

Gibril: Now, eat this! This ocean is littered with sunken ships and wrecked aircrafts, so I’ve got no shortage of material ta use! Yer in my playin’ field now!

Gibril: Tch, broke my bullets with yer lasers, huh?

Jota: I see now… you’re truly a worthy opponent. I humbly apologize for underestimating you! Starting now, as both a soldier, and an Adept, I challenge you to a battle!

Gibril: Sounds like fun. You’re on!

Jota: I’m bringing out my full power, child!

Gibril: Why you…! You said that on purpose, didn’t ya?! I’m SO not letting you off the hook now! I’m gonna mince you into a billion pieces!

Jota: En garde!

Track 4

Merak: I shouldn’t have told Nova about that advance notice… Jota’s even out there fighting on the front lines… with the way this is going… Nova is definitely going to ask something from me. I so don’t wanna bother… Ugh, here it comes…

Nova: Merak? Do you copy?

Merak: Yeah yeah, I know, you want me to go make sure the hacker didn’t break in, right?

Nova: …Thanks for speeding this conversation along. They’ll likely use this chaos to break through UTU’s security and–

Merak: Geez, he just jinxed us. Knew it. My access permissions are restricted from here. Looks like there’s no other choice but to go to UTU’s motherboard myself. Agh, what a royal pain!

Teseo: DA-DADA-DA! TESEO HAS LOGGED IN~!

Merak: H-Huh?! What… is that… real? No, something’s off… It’s like a game character came to life…!

Teseo: HOHO! AS EXPECTED FROM SUMERAGI’S UB3R H4XXOR. YOU’RE RIGHT… ISH!

Merak: I take it you’re Eden’s hacker, then?

Teseo: IN THE DIGITAL FLESH! USING MY SEPTIMA, I CAN TRANSFORM TANGIBLE MATTER INTO ONES AND ZEROES, AND JUST LIKE THAT, TURN IT BACK AROUND TO REAL! OH TESEO, REVEALING ALL YOUR SECRETS LIKE THAT, YOU’RE SO TERRIBLY CHIVALROUS!

Merak: Yet another tacky Septima. So, I assume this clumsy 3D model thing is also data-turned-matter?

Teseo: WAIT TILL YOU’VE SEEN WHAT IT CAN DO!

Merak: “This just in: Teseo has broken through one layer of security.” Wow, that quickly? You’re not half-bad.

Teseo: HEHE~ C’MON, YOU BETTER WATCH OUT BEFORE I FRAG THE REST OF YOUR SECURITY!

Merak: You’re right, I better hurry.

Teseo: He’s… gone?

Merak: Hup! I’ve made my escape! Alright, now to just get to the motherboard and– … Huff… Here he comes.

Teseo: WOAH!! DUDE, WHAT WAS THAT?

Merak: You’re not the only Adept around here, you know.

Teseo: OHHH, YOU’RE THE GUY WITH THE WORMHOLE SEPTIMA, RIGHT?

Merak: Yup! Now, if you’ll excuse me…

Teseo: OH NO YOU DON’T!

Merak: The walls…!

Teseo: TESEO’S SUPER POWER HOUR’S ONLY JUST BEGUN, YOU KNOW!

Merak: Super Power Hour…? Man, I hate dealing with stuff like this…

Teseo: ALLOW ME TO ENLIGHTEN YOU! MY SEPTIMA CAN TURN DATA INTO MATTER! LIKE SO!

Merak: That’s…! A character from a cult classic shooting game…!

Teseo: ONE OF MY TOP PIX! SAY HELLO TO EKORO, ANGEL-IN-TRAINING!

Merak: Woah…

Teseo: STEP RIGHT UP AND TAKE A LOOK AT MY PICTURE-PERFECT MODELLING! OH TESEO, YOU’RE A TOP TIER MODEL-BUILDING PRO!

Merak: Ugh… I wanna go home…

Teseo: NOT IMPRESSED? I CRINGE AT THY LACK OF UNDERSTANDING MY GR8NESS

Merak: I kinda don’t care.

Teseo: GO GO, EKORO! GET HIS ASS!

Merak: Get out!

Teseo: WAHHH! SHE FELL INTO A PIT! A PIIIIT–!!!

Merak: This is bad! If I keep fighting him head-on like this, my body won’t pull through! Come on, let’s just head to UTU and finish this already…!

Track 5

Nova: Huh, and here I thought they were just a mere group of radicalists. They’re quite something. An incoming call? From where?

Tenjian: Hi there. Pleased to meet you.

Nova: And you are…?

Tenjian: I’m Tenjian. The leader of Eden’s illustrious Grimmwald Seven, or the G7.

Nova: The G7? Hm… You’re from Eden, are you.

Tenjian: Are you enjoying the show? The power of Eden’s Adepts.

Nova: I’m surprised, frankly. I never thought you’d go this far.

Tenjian: Our Adepts are like armies unto themselves. You’d understand, as an Adept yourself. We are a group formed entirely of exceptional Adepts. After all, those who possess Septima are the chosen ones.

Nova: Sorry to say, but I don’t consider myself an elitist.

Tenjian: That’s quite a shame.

Nova: More importantly, not only did you send an advance notice, but you contacted the whole head of this operation. You’re really trying to make your point.

Tenjian: Of course. I thought I’d exemplify that we can intervene, with force, should the mood strike us. Because Eden’s Adepts are exceptionally talented, after all.

Nova: You don’t need to sugarcoat it, just tell me what you’re really after.

Tenjian: I already told you. We aim to prove to non-Adepts that we are far superior to them.

Nova: Goodness me… You went through all this trouble to talk directly to me, and you’re just going to put on a facade the whole time? The reason you’re making a spectacle about all this… it’s probably to cover for something else, right?

Tenjian: Such as?

Nova: Well?

Tenjian: We here at Eden are not the only ones with something to gain from this.

Nova: Meaning?

Tenjian: If this incident were to become public knowledge… the masses would be forced to consider the possibility of external threats. When and if that happens, any other related party would assume the key position.*

Nova: True.

Tenjian: Now, in that scenario, who would reap the most benefits?

Nova: My, my… if we’re going to keep trying to sniff out each other’s true intentions, I suppose I have no choice.

Tenjian: Right.

Nova: At any rate… I don’t intend to let you destroy our barrier.

Tenjian: We share the sentiment. We don’t plan on losing.

Nova: Tenjian of Eden… what a crafty man.

* The wordage used in this line is INCREDIBLY vague. I guess think of it as an extension to the thought “We aren’t the only ones with something to gain from this”. He probably refers to QUILL…?

To be continued… In part two…!

One thought on “3DS Striker Pack Drama CD Tracks 1-5

Leave a comment